StudyAbroadMate   + Create Post

UNESCO Prize for Girls and Women Education 2024

The UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education honours outstanding and innovative contributions made by individuals, institutions, and organizations to advance girls’ and women’s education. It is the first UNESCO Prize of this nature and is unique in showcasing successful projects that improve and promote the educational prospects of girls and women and in turn, the quality of their lives.

Funded by the Government of the People’s Republic of China, the Prize is conferred annually to two laureates and consists of an award of US $50,000 each to help further their work in the area of girls’ and women’s education. The Director-General of UNESCO awarded the Prize for the first time in 2016. 

Aim and Benefits 

The UNESCO Prize offers substantial benefits:

  • A $50,000 award annually to two laureates.
  • Recognition and support for initiatives promoting girls’ and women’s education.
  • Opportunity to further enhance and expand impactful projects.


To be eligible for the UNESCO Prize for Girls and Women, applicants must satisfy the following conditions:

  • Be nominated by a National Commission or Permanent Delegation to UNESCO, or by an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO.
  • Demonstrate significant contributions to advancing girls’ and women’s education.

Application Deadline

May 24, 2024

How to Apply

  1. Nominations can be submitted via the dedicated online platform in English or French by a National Commission or Permanent Delegation to UNESCO of the concerned Member State, or by an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO. Nominations submitted by a Member State’s National Commission must be validated by the Permanent Delegation. nominations from an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO must be validated by the organization’s headquarters. Nominations from country branches or affiliated offices will not be accepted.
  2. National Commissions and Permanent Delegations to UNESCO may access the online submissions platform through their official UNESCO account using the following link: NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO will be granted direct access to the online platform by the Secretariat upon request. To request access, please contact [email protected]
  3. Member States and NGOs in official partnership may request that candidates complete the online nomination form directly. Access to the platform will be granted to candidates by the Prize Secretariat upon request from the nominating entity (National Commission, Permanent Delegation or NGO in official Partnership with UNESCO). Requests should be sent to [email protected] by 22 May 2024. Once the online form is completed by the candidate, the nominating entity will be required to review and validate the submission.
  4. Nominations must be submitted via the online platform by midnight of 24 May 2024 (UTC+1, Paris time). Kindly note that a nominating entity (Member State or NGO in official partnership with UNESCO) may not submit more than three nominations.

For more details, visit UNESCO website

0 Likes ,   151 Views,     Apr 03

1 Comment(s)

Comment Here